Garloo Said (past entries)

Contact Garloo

Talk to Garloo



Kitty Bukkake
Standing Room Only
Beulah Bondi
Diaryland


Monday, Apr. 14, 2003 - 5:38 p.m.

1:38 p.m. About half way through lunch with J-Mo and Corky one of them asked, "What else is going on?" I suddenly remembered what had happened to me on Friday and with great pride shared my story:

"You won�t believe what happened to me the other day. As soon as I got home on Friday night I was immediately put in good mood because my cleaning lady, Miss Lupe, had been there and the place look fantastic. And when I went into the bedroom and looked at the freshly made bed I was actually looking forward to crawling in-between the crisp clean sheets. Well anyhow, you�re never guess what happened next. Around ten I went to get into bed and�guess what? There were no sheets on the bed. Miss Lupe had made the bed without the sheets or pillowcases. Can you imagine? What happened was when I had stripped the bed of the old sheets to take to the cleaners that morning I had forgotten to put out the clean set of sheets for Miss Lupe. You can image my shock. I was already to get into bed and there were no sheets. There I was 10 o�clock at night making my own bed."

Cocky was first to respond, "Gee Garloo that story is right up there with the ping pong ball story from "Auntie Mame."

J-Mo followed with, "You put the sheets on the bed all by yourself? Oh my God, doesn�t Frette have an 800 number for those kind of emergencies?"

Cocky, in full mock clenched-Connecticut-top-drawer accent, continued, "Can you imagine no sheets on the bed and the linen closet was locked. The linen closet was locked."

J-Mo, in similar cadence, and Corky continued to make sport of what is now know as my "sheet predicament " for another 30 minutes.

2:51 p.m. It�s not that I mind being the punching bag because I really don�t. It�s more than that. Both Corky and J-Mo are in long-term relationships. They have someone to share with all their mundane trivial day-to-day experiences whether humorous or not, interesting or not, relevant or not, provocative or not, immaterial frivolous insignificant or not. Being single doesn�t afford the luxury of rambling the day�s ups and downs to a built-in recipient willing or not. Being single can be lonely. Being single can be boring. Being single can be isolating. I�m single. I haven�t been single in a very long time and I haven�t been single very long and I�m not complaining about being single because I spent too many years complaining about being in a relationship. However, what I�m finding is that being single does takes getting accustom to.

3:02 p.m. Although I don�t regret sharing my "sheet predicament" I do regret sharing it with the excitement of a preteen bringing his mother�s hidden copy of the Burt Reynolds Cosmopolitan centerfold to his pals in the tree fort for the first time.

previous - next