Garloo Said (past entries)

Contact Garloo

Talk to Garloo



Kitty Bukkake
Standing Room Only
Beulah Bondi
Diaryland


Friday, Apr. 25, 2003 - 3:33 p.m.

The 107th Boston Marathon

Part Three

Monday � April 21st

10:05 a.m. Opting to take the civilized transportation of a hired towncar in lieu of marathon provided Boston Unified school buses Kitty, Corky, Jr and I arrived Hopkinton, MA naively ready, foolishly willing and hopefully able to embark on the 26.2 mile journey back to where we began the days journey, corner of Boylston and Dartmouth in Boston.

12:10 p.m. With approximately 17 thousand runners separating us from the starting line not only were we unable to hear the 12 noon starting gun we didn�t even begin to lurch forward until 10 past the hour.

12:18:33 p.m. Finally cross the starting line.

Mile 1: Feeling great! This is great! Look at the sea of runners in front of me! And the fans are fantastic!

Mile 2 : Massachusetts is so pretty.

Mile 3 : Wow it�s really warm.

Mile 4 : Endorphins just started kicking in. Bout time.

Mile 5 : Feeling good.

Mile 6 : I think we�re running too fast. "Are we running too fast cause it feels a little fast."

Mile 7 : My feet hurt.

Mile 8 : Is that chaffing? No, I couldn�t possibly be chaffing this early. Oh shit it�s chaffing.

Mile 9 : I remind myself that I�m ready for this. I�ve trained hard. I can do this.

Mile 10: Feeling okay.

Mile 11: Irritated that my running pals have the energy for endless happy chat.

Mile 12: I beg the others to retire, "I ran all night just to get to you, is that alright?"

Mile 13: Halfway to Hell I get an adrenaline rush coasting off the positive energy flowing from the girls of Wellesley College.

Mile 14: Think I�m being clever telling myself, "Less than 13 to go."

Mile 15: Feeling not so good.

Mile 16: On a well-warranted walk break a sideline heckler grouses, "It�s not a walkathon." I reply with a mite too much venom, "How �bout next year I hold the beer can and you run?" Afterthought, "Asshole."

Mile 17: Was that a blister that just popped?

Mile 18: After 18 miles, "Excuse me, coming through" is replaced with, "Get the fuck out of my way."

Mile 19: With no trace of my last endorphin I long for the inner strength boasted about on t-shirts.

Mile 20: Feeling awful.

Mile 21: Trying to remember why I do this.

Mile 22: Trying to remember a pleasant memory. Any pleasant memory.

Mile 23: Grasp for any semblance of inspiration to continue.

Mile 24: This is definitely my last marathon.

Mile 25: If one more person yells, "Almost there!"�

Mile 26: Almost there I encourage myself by chanting out loud, "Come on Garloo, come on, come on Garloo, come on�"

Finish line Mile 26.2: I�m an athlete. A 7 time marathoner!

previous - next